We are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s ACFO-ACAF scholarships, Tirpat Sekhon and Meghan Gaudet.

Merdon Hosking Youth Scholarship Winner: Tirpat Sekhon

Established in honour of ACFO-ACAF founder and former president Merdon Hosking, the Merdon Hosking Youth Scholarship is a one-time $2,500 scholarship awarded to a child or dependent of a member of the CT Community that is currently enrolled in a post-secondary degree or diploma program at a recognized institution.

This year’s winner is Tirpat Sekhon. Tirpat is currently studying at the University of British Columbia in the Faculty of Science and is a dependent of ACFO-ACAF member Surindar Sekhon.

CT Community Professional Scholarship Winner: Meghan Gaudet

The CT Community Professional Scholarship is a one-time $2,500 scholarship awarded to a member of the CT Community in good standing that is in pursuit of their CPA designation.

Meghan is a CT-FIN-2 working as a Senior Financial Analyst at Employment and Social Development Canada in Moncton, New Brunswick. She is a volunteer on the board of the Financial Management Institute of Canada and is currently working towards her CPA designation.

Evaluation and how to apply

The evaluation of applications and selection of winners are done by an independent committee. To make the process fairer and more unbiased, all personal identification is removed from the applications before they are sent to the evaluation committee. The committee members examine applications in detail assigning a score from 1 – 5 on several different assessment criteria, including the applicant’s resume, references and more.

Applications for the 2022 scholarships will open in Summer 2022. To learn more about the different scholarships and criteria to apply, visit the Scholarships page. Any questions can be directed to scholarships@acfo-acaf.com.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship winners and we hope to see you apply in 2022!