On October 26, 2023, ACFO-ACAF held its 34th Annual General Meeting at the Shaw Center in Ottawa. We were pleased to have upwards of 60 members join us in person at this year’s AGM with additional attendees taking part virtually. During the event, ACFO-ACAF President Dany Richard provided updates and answered questions on a number of key topics including:  

  • Collective bargaining; 
  • Telework; 
  • The Public Service Health Care Plan; and  
  • Pay Equity.  

For those of you who may have missed this year’s AGM, a recording of the event will be made available on the member portal over the next few weeks.  

Official voting results 

Below you can find the official results for the 34th annual AGM on both the resolutions and for the Board of Directors. More than 1,200 members voted, and we’d like to thank all of you for taking the time to vote. 


Resolution 1: Approval of the minutes of the 33rd Annual General Meeting 

Yes: 1,214 

Abstain: 48 

No: 14 

Resolution 2: Approval of the audited Financial Statements 

Yes: 1,208 

Abstain: 51 

No: 17 

Resolution 3: Approval of the 2024 budget 

Yes: 1,188 

Abstain: 62 

No: 26 

Resolution 4: Approval of the auditors 

Yes: 1,184 

Abstain: 64 

No: 28 

Resolution 5: Approval that simple name changes without a formal amendment to the bylaws be allowed 

Yes: 1,215 

Abstain: 40 

No: 21 

Resolution 6: Approval that there be equal recognition for both official languages and document interpretation 

Yes: 1,177 

Abstain: 44 

No: 55 

Resolution 7: Approval that the duplicate language in Article 9.13.5 be removed 

Yes: 1,189 

Abstain: 47 

No: 40 

Resolution 8: Approval that the duties of the chair be amended to reflect current practice 

Yes: 1,166 

Abstain: 56 

No: 54 

Resolution 9: Approval that the duties of Directors be amended to reflect current practice regarding attendance at meetings 

Yes: 1,158 

Abstain: 51 

No: 67 

Board of Directors 

Nicole Bishop-Tempke, Ian Boyle and Rob Hawkins were all re-elected to their positions on the Board of Directors. The voting results were as follows: 

Nicole Bishop-Tempke: 927 

Ian Boyle: 923 

Rob Hawkins: 796 

Pierre Liu: 497 

Scholarship Recipients

This year, ACFO-ACAF awarded the Merdon Hosking Youth Scholarship to Joshua Ryan Valcourt and Anushka Kothari.

Joshua Ryan Valcourt, currently in his second year of Psychology Studies at Concordia University, actively contributes his time to three distinct research laboratories as a dedicated volunteer. He aspires to spearhead independent research endeavours that explore the relationship between gender and mental health. Joshua’s ultimate career goal is to become a clinical psychologist, providing invaluable support to individuals grappling with mental health challenges, while also becoming a university professor to foster a more resilient society.

Anushka Kothari is currently pursuing a Doctor of Pharmacy degree with a strong passion for a career as a pharmacist, aiming to offer patient care and counseling services in rural communities. She has served as a team lead for Canadian Blood Services and contributed to Agape Table’s daily meal program, providing essential support to individuals facing hardships within her community. She has also collaborated with Let’s Talk Science, an organization dedicated to enhancing science literacy in children. This cause holds a special place in her heart as she is deeply devoted to empowering future generations, particularly those underrepresented in the field of science, to pursue their interests in this vital area.