ACFO-ACAF is pleased to announce this year’s scholarship winners, Samantha Yee, and Melody Coulter. The winners were honoured last week during our Annual General Meeting, where they both had the opportunity to address the members in attendance and extend their thanks for having been selected.

Merdon Hosking Youth Scholarship Winner: Samantha Yee

The Merdon Hosking Youth Scholarship was established in honour of the founder and former president of ACFO-ACAF, Merdon Hoksing. This one-time scholarship of $2,500 is awarded each year to a child or dependent of a member of the CT Community who is currently enrolled in a post-secondary degree or diploma program at a recognized institution.

This year’s winner, Samantha Yee, is currently studying at the University of Toronto in pursuit of a Doctor of Medicine (MD). Samantha was eligible to receive this award as a result of being the child of ACFO-ACAF member Blenda Jong, who is an FI-04, working with The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

CT Community Professional Scholarship Winner: Melody Coulter

The CT Community Professional Scholarship is a one-time scholarship of $2,500, awarded to a member of the CT Community in good standing who is in pursuit of their CPA designation.

This year’s recipient, Melody Coulter, is a FI-02 who is currently working at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED). Melody is recognized by her coworkers as someone who cares deeply about helping fellow members of the CT Community and continuously looks for way to improve the lives of those around her.

Evaluation and how to apply

The evaluation of applications and selection of winners are done by an independent committee. To make the process fairer and more unbiased, all personal identification is removed from the applications before they are sent to the evaluation committee. The committee members examine applications in detail assigning a score from 1 – 5 on several different assessment criteria, including the applicant’s resume, references, and more.

Applications for the 2023 scholarships will open in spring 2023. To learn more about the different scholarships and criteria to apply, visit the Scholarships page. Any questions can be directed to

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship winners and we look forward to opening applications for 2023!